Welcome to My World!

Hi there!

Thanks for checking out my new blog. There are a couple reasons that I decided to start this blog and to seriously commit to maintaining it.

First of all, I want to encourage awareness and discussion of topics that seem too often neglected in contemporary society, yet that I see as crucially important. I’m talking about the arts, culture, history, the humanities, and basically just the things that offer you a glimpse of the “sublime.” I’m going to borrow a line that South Africa used for its tourism advertising that I found ten years ago and have never forgotten: “It is when you feel most insignificant that you feel most alive.” These moments of “sublimity” happen when you find yourself standing in the midst of something SO much bigger than yourself. And in the exhilaration of that moment, you find yourself inspired, renewed, energized, and changed in a fundamental way. That’s what I hope we all can share here in this safe and friendly environment.

Second, I want to write about these moments as I experience them so that, first, they are archived. I’ll look at this as something of a journal that I want to share with whoever might be interested. But more importantly, I want to force myself to slow down for a minute and think, reflect, and remember. I want these inspiring and sublime moments to last me forever. I want to always remember the lessons I learned and the visions I’ve gained. By forcing myself to write about them here, they will not be lost.

I hope that “J Culture” as I hope to call this blog, will allow for all these things. Welcome and please share your opinions and views. As long as you’re respectful and thoughtful, I entirely welcome those who disagree with me and will offer me arguments, should they occur to you. I want to learn and grow from this exercise as well.

Thanks for coming! And enjoy yourself here!

Jesse

About Jesse Katen

Jesse Katen is a professor, dance studio owner, and competition judge who lives in Binghamton, New York. He opened his studio, The Jesse Katen School of Dance in 2004, which is currently in Windsor, NY. He travels extensively throughout the United States as a guest teacher and professional competition judge. In 2016, he was awarded the Industry Dance Award for Outstanding Judge by the Association of Dance Conventions & Competitions at their annual gala in Las Vegas. He is the coordinator of the Honors Program at SUNY Broome Community College, where he also teaches in the English department. Jesse's professional and volunteer work focuses on education, dance, literacy, and the arts. Check out the WBNG-TV news feature on Jesse: http://www.wbng.com/story/32879982/tales-from-the-tiers-jesse-katen This blog by Jesse Katen is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Posted on July 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You are an inspiration to many. You have some awesome views. I enjoyed reading your Blog.

    Like

Feel free to comment here! :)

